Lyme Disease, Babesiosis, and Bartonella.

The three TBD!

I have three tick born diseases (TBD) and they stink.
I have chronic fatigue, in the last week, I have been unable to cut my meat on two occasions and given up eating 2 meals due to fatigue while chewing.

I wake up with pain. Joint pain. Muscle pain. Yesterday, I woke up and had messed up my tendons in my sleep. I welcomed my Wheelchair but I got fatigued from that, too.

You may remember I told you a while ago I had Lyme Disease. I was bit by a tick. When? I do not know. I just know that it happened about 15 – 20 years ago. Those tests I had at age 19 must have been wrong… My body has completely gone downhill.

My doctor is currently combating the Babesiosis, I think. One at a time. I was in remission. Then, my insurance stopped covering my meds, I ran out of coverage. I now am back on my meds, but Lulu will probably go to daycare, which breaks my heark. I was really enjoying being with her.

I have been more successful with oral meds than my doctors or I had hoped and I will likely be able to avoid IV at home. The unfortunate thing, is that, with all this pain, I am a lucky and successful candidate.

When I was in Vietnam with Lulu, I really just thought I was a tired new mom! Not so much anymore. Now I am a tired mom, who is fighting like heck to be better.

I hate ticks. I see hiking as a highway to hell. I don’t want to play outside with Lulu because I see it as Tick Heaven!

Anyway, it’s bad, and I just wanted to update you all. I will surely be posting great pics of Lulu soon!

8 Comments

  1. Mary

    Hang in there, Mer! I won’t say daycare is great — the guilt is unavoidable, and no one will ever, EVER take care of your the kid like you can. But my kids love(d) interacting with other kids. It’s certainly harder on me than on them. And you need to get healthy in order to be the best mama you can. And, apparently, in order to chew. Hugs from NC.

  2. Mary

    PS ticks stink.

  3. Laura

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re having such a tough time. I really enjoy your blog, and love seeing pictures of Lulu growing up – I adopted a daughter from Vietnam also, and your blogs give me confidence that she will grow up to be happy and healthy. So, for what it’s worth from someone who doesn’t know you – Lulu is great, take care of yourself!

  4. Katherine

    I’m so sorry that you are so affected by this disease. It just totally sucks. Of course you know that, but I thought I would let you know that I am listening to you.

    Lulu will love being around the other kids. In the long run daycare is way harder on us than the kids.

  5. Teresa

    I’m so sorry, Mer. My good friend was recently diagnosed with Lyme disease, and it is unbelievable how completely debilitating it is. You are in my prayers.

  6. As you know, I have Tyler in daycare b/c I am too sick to care for him 24/7. This way he gets fresh air every day, water play during the summer, aside from learning socialization with kids. He really loves it! Don’t feel badly about it, and the rest you will get during the day WILL help make the times with Lulu better for you both!

  7. Kristin

    I am so, so sorry. I hope with all my heart that your doctors figure out the best treatment and that you begin to feel better soon.

  8. Carol

    Mer, I am so sorry to hear how sick you are. You are in my prayers, my friend. I hope that the meds treatment helps and that you will begin to feel much better. Hugs!

Leave a comment